Peavey Classic 50 2x12?

What's Hot
RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 13941
Loving the sound this guy gets with his Peavey Classic 50 2x12 with his 2016 R8.

How are these amps after the move to China for manufacturing? Anyone using one?

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I'm not using one but that tone is fantastic 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • rawk100rawk100 Frets: 1757
    I gigged one for several years in a alt/punk band (foo fighter, green day type) and it was great. Use to eat EL84's but it never let me down. I've still got it actually and give it a blast now and again. I got it when I couldn't be arsed to cart around my jcm800 half stack anymore. I had a nice crunch and could get into metal territory with a boost up front, it use to take pedals well.

Mine is a US made one and I have no experience of the Chinese ones. You can pick a US one up for around £300 second hand anyway.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72342
    I've not seen a Chinese one yet. The USA ones are very good, much better than the Classic 30.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• RandallFlaggRandallFlagg Frets: 13941
    edited February 2017
    I read that they made a few mods to the circuit when moving manufacture to China to improve reliability and lower the noice floor.

• My friend had one, probably a US one. The drummer in his blues band ran a music shop that was a Peavey dealership  and he went through almost everything in the range, the bassist had a Peavey amp, they had Peavey PA.