Introducing 1 Blue String

Hi there Fretboarders.

I'm relatively new around here, I hope you don't mind that I'm jumping in, starting a new thread, but I hope this is something you folks might be interested in. Just to reassure you, I'm not a spambot, I've been playing (or more honestly, torturing) guitars for about 40 years - I've even dutifully joined in the '10 Questions' and 'introduce yourself' threads. I'm looking forward to lurking away many happy hours on these boards, but I won't deny I signed up with a slight ulterior motive.

Amongst various other interests, I am a volunteer with a charity called Survivors Manchester. We provide support & counselling to male survivors of sexual violence, which include many survivors of institutional abuse, prison-rape victims and people living on the margins such as street-based sex workers. So yes, it is heavy subject matter, but please bear with me! 

This autumn we are launching the UK version of an initiative called 1 Blue String.  The project began in the US a few years ago and is based on the statistic that 1 in 6 boys and men will experience some kind of sexual abuse, sexual violence or exploitation in their lifetimes. Our own UK promo video is on its way very soon, but for now, here's a US version that is a wee bit cheesy but explains the idea pretty well.  (Sorry, have tried to do the embedded video voodoo but it is beyond my noobishness for now)

The 1 Blue String project invites guitarists to replace the bass E string of their guitar with a blue one which we provide through the website, then to share a short video, Vine, even just a selfie pic on Youtube, social media etc, use the string at a gig or whatever else they can do to spread the word. You can see loads of examples on the website.