Gain Stacking on a Blackstar LT-Drive - FFO Fugazi/Sonic Youth

AsomodaiAsomodai Frets: 105
edited March 2017 in FX

Hello all. I am new to the art of Gain stacking. Essentially I play in a Post-punk-rock band with experimental elements, think Fugazi, Sonic youth etc. Axe of choice is a cheap as chips Telecaster. 

I have a Blackstar LT-Drive pedal, which is a plexi copy, i like to have it at a fairly low-medium gain setting to mimic a broken up amp and I used my dynamics to go driven and somewhat clean. However sometimes I just want that extra boost to go into a more crazy overdrive or fuzz with feedback effects. 

What sort of thing should I be looking at? Clean boost in front of the LT-Drive? Fuzz before or after? Another overdrive? Maybe even a MXR Distortion +? (Guy Picciotto from Fugazi uses that to great effect)

As I used lots of different amps during the week I dont want to have to use the amp to help me out here. Assume I am running a clean amp all the time. 

Cheers in advance! 

Ibanez RG550 Genesis

Musicman Stingray USA

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JohnnysevenJohnnyseven Frets: 908
    edited March 2017
    I had a similar situation to you when I was playing alot with my band, we played similar type of music. A pedal I found that worked with a good percentage of studio amps was a Proco Turbo Rat, which is also used by Thurston Moore. It's has a very wide gain range and stacks very well with other pedals.
    My trading feedback can be seen here - http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/58242/
  • DarnWeightDarnWeight Frets: 2566
    Asomodai said:

Hello all. I am new to the art of Gain stacking. Essentially I play in a Post-punk-rock band with experimental elements, think Fugazi, Sonic youth etc. Axe of choice is a cheap as chips Telecaster.