What's the smallest valve amp you have successfully gigged?

What's Hot

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72411
    5watt Victoria 5112 ;)
    The wink is appropriate given that it's the loudest 5W I've ever heard... the guitarist in my band had one, and it would keep up unmic'ed with a fairly loud drummer and my 500W bass amp - admittedly flat-out, it had nothing even approaching clean at that volume.

It was actually labelled "20W" in the back, even though it definitely isn't - but does sound quite like it.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • shaunmshaunm Frets: 1598
    I've been gigging 18 or 20 watt amps for the last 10 years without too much of an issue (a 5e3 isn't great unmiced in a two band set up mind). 

Im looking forward to my next gig though as I get to use my 50watt jcm800 combo. I should t have thought volume will be an issue at this gig.
  • danlptdanlpt Frets: 12
    edited March 2017
    Orange OR15. Held it's own through a 212 with no mic against our heavy hitting drummer
  • If the amp is being mic'd does it really matter how powerful the amp is?

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72411
    Niallseroreilly said:
    If the amp is being mic'd does it really matter how powerful the amp is?