“Easy to play”?

What's Hot
Apologies if this is a ridiculously simple question, but I am fairly new to the guitar.

Earlier today I watched an Andertons video where Paul Reed Smith sent Danish Pete one of his guitars as a gift. One of his first comments was about how easy to play it is. What characteristics or specifications make certain guitars easier to play than others? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33899
    edited March 2019
    Neck feel/stickiness/smoothness, ability to have a low action without buzzing, guitar geometry.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • BlaendulaisBlaendulais Frets: 3325
    Cynically also whether it was free or whether you are endorsed by the company.  These days probably more frequent than above
    6reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 12reaction image Wisdom
  • TenebrousTenebrous Frets: 1332
    Part of it is also down to personal preference. One guys easier to play guitar might be horrible for another guy to play, & vice versa.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • I think it's a bit like driving.
    I drive lots of rental cars & while I can drive them all, sometimes I get one that's just "easy" to drive. It reacts predictably & there's no unexpected drama. 
    Of course sometimes you might WANT a bit of drama or excitement from you car (or guitar), but that's personal preference. Without it you might use the word "bland" or "sterile". 

I've had a few technically perfect guitars that I just found uninspiring, but I've also had a couple that I had to "fight" with a bit that I really enjoyed.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom
  • TTBZTTBZ Frets: 2941
    edited March 2019