Speaker Amp

What's Hot
For home use I've started using my guitar through my desktop PC using a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. I have it hooked up to a decent pair of passive speakers, but my volume is very limited. I'm guessing a pair of powered/active monitors would solve this problem. However, is it feasible to build a small amp to put between the interface and the speakers so I can increase the volume? If so, does anyone know of a reliable resource/plans etc.
I have some electronics background and access to component parts so building one wouldn't be too much of a stretch.
I guess i'm just putting the feelers out for any pitfalls, and things I should look out for. The internet is also awash with plans for small amps, but I've seen capacitors blow, so am wary of just grabbing any old plans.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    I think in normal cases, you would need powered monitors for the output from the Scarlett, I'm using I louds, perfect for space limitations. Otherwise, something like a Marshall code 25 should be available for about the price of a distortion pedal, which also acts as an interface for PC recording. I built a Fuzzdog Noisy Cricket amp in a pedal form for a bit of fun, so maybe that is up your alley, but there's a million ways to skin a cat.
  • RockerRocker Frets: 4985
    A used hi-fi integrated amp between the Scarlett and your speakers will give you more volume.  And without costing the earth.
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. [Albert Einstein]

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • maltingsaudiomaltingsaudio Frets: 3128
    edited December 2019