anyone reduced the heel on a Les Paul successfuly?

What's Hot
Hi there, I'm a novice, and I wouldn't attempt it myself, but has anyone ever reduced the size of the heel on a Les Paul?

I'd quite like a bit more comfortable upper fret access on my R7.

I'm not interested in resale value etc, this one is a keeper.

I'm wondering whether it would be unwise in terms of making it unstable.

cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• olafgartenolafgarten Frets: 1648
    I'd ask a more experienced builder, I imagine it's quite a bug job and you will have to consider the strength of the neck joint. 

@FelineGuitars @WezV @Andyjr1515 ;
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16725
    edited May 2017
    I would only do it on a guitar where I had fitted the neck, so integrity could be guaranteed.

If it's a keeper, don't go doing major structural changes
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • GSPBASSESGSPBASSES Frets: 2351
    tFB Trader

I certainly wouldn't recommend cutting a way the heel on Gibson Les Paul. Gibson are not known for quality neck  joints in terms of a tight fit, you may find gaps between the body and the neck as you cut away wood from the body.

Your life will improve when you realise it’s better to be alone than chase people who do not really care about you. Saying YES to happiness means learning to say NO to things and people that stress you out.

https://www.facebook.com/grahame.pollard.39/

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72418
    GSPBASSES said:

I certainly wouldn't recommend cutting a way the heel on Gibson Les Paul. Gibson are not known for quality neck  joints in terms of a tight fit, you may find gaps between the body and the neck as you cut away wood from the body.