Who listens to classical music?

What's Hot

Comments

• artinskiartinski Frets: 9
    @robgilmo ;
    Ahhh, the Cello Suites. =)  I have a recording of them by a chap named Jan Vogler. I could not make up my mind as to whether to get one of the Casals recordings or a more 'modern' one, and eventually I opted for the latter. I am just beginning to dive into Bach. It is a universe. Tartini... I had to look him up in Wikipedia. Very interesting! Very productive composer. I will get myself a nice recording. Which one(s) do you like? Oh, and I am glad no harm was caused by that bang.  :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • NiteflyNitefly Frets: 4920
    I knew very little of classical music, so, around 15 years ago, I started buying a collection of cd's called "In Classical Mood".  The premise was that each month you'd get a cd, until you had all 48 in the set.

Each cd had a theme, e.g. "Reflections", "Springtime", etc., and had 10 or 12 tracks of whole pieces or single movements by assorted composers, all loosely linked to the month's theme.  They came with a hardback booklet/cd case, with a page or two about each piece, the composer, and odd notes for historical context.

I was surprised to see how many of the "tunes" I actually knew, without actually knowing what they were called or who they were by.  In truth, they didn't inspire me to go out and buy the full works, but I still listen to them from time to time.

• robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3497
    Did you know ''Moonlight Sonata'' was originally titled ''Quasi una fantasia'' or ''Almost a fantasy''?
    A Deuce , a Tele and a cup of tea.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24364
    Yup.

quite often.
    edited July 2017