If Hendrix had played a Telecaster

What's Hot
Three-ColourSunburstThree-ColourSunburst Frets: 1139
edited August 2017 in Guitar
Hi folks,

Been lurking for a while but this is my first post!

Despite being old, I'm pretty new to this guitar-playing thing, and there is a lot I see and read that leaves me scratching my head.

One is the way that what is seen as being a suitable guitar for a rock guitarist seems, to a large degree, to depend on what a few very influential players used back in the 60's and 70's - i.e. the Les Paul and the Stratocaster. I can see how the sound these players made with these instruments when fed into certain classic amps came define what rock music 'should' sound like, but given that the shape of a guitar is pretty much irrelevant to how it sounds, how come it is specifically the LP and Strat' that seem to have become the iconic 'rock guitars'? For example, relatively few rock guitarists are associated with the Telecaster, despite the fact that it a very versatile instrument and can give sounds that are somewhere between those of both a LP and a Strat..

I know Page used a Tele' for the early Zeppelin stuff, and some other players have favoured them, so the instrument is obviously 'fit for purpose', but the classic image of a rock guitarist generally seems to involve a LP or a Strat'. Is this because those instruments portray the right image? Is it because players feel that can somehow channel the spirit of Page, Kossoff, Hendrix et al. if they play the same instrument? Is is because players fear being mistaken for someone who might play 'country', or something else? If Hendrix or Kossoff had played a Telecaster, would a Tele' probably now carry the same aura as the Strat' and LP do today?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RavenousRavenous Frets: 1484

I believe Jimi had a Tele neck at one point. (May have broken a Strat neck and fitted a substitute.)