Mazda to make compression ignition petrol engine.....

What's Hot
HaychHaych Frets: 5684

Just seen this on BBC news:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-40873093

Mazda is set to sell cars with compression ignition petrol engines from 2019, claiming they are 'up to' 30% more efficient than conventional petrol engines.

But, it begs the question why?  Why is petrol compression ignition more efficient than spark ignition?   I'm no engineer so ask the question for education, not to be cynical.

There is no 'H' in Aych, you know that don't you? ~ Wife

Turns out there is an H in Haych! ~ Sporky

Bit of trading feedback here.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Axe_meisterAxe_meister Frets: 4653
    Lotus have had a compression ignition test bed engine for years.
    Does not have a normal camshaft but each valve is moved up and down via it's own actuator. Sound more like a diesel than a diesel apparently
  • HaychHaych Frets: 5684
    Hmm, that sounds expensive to repair when it goes wrong. 

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601
    Haych said:

Mazda is set to sell cars with compression ignition petrol engines from 2019, claiming they are 'up to' 30% more efficient than conventional petrol engines.

But, it begs the question why?  Why is petrol compression ignition more efficient than spark ignition?   I'm no engineer so ask the question for education, not to be cynical.

I think the compression allows for a more powerful spark meaning less petrol is needed for combustion.

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
  • aord43aord43 Frets: 287
    Fretwired said:
    Haych said:

I think the compression allows for a more powerful spark meaning less petrol is needed for combustion.

No spark is needed with compression ignition.  Normal engines compress then spark.  This one apparently just compresses and it ignites due to the compression (because of the heat, I assume).  That's how diesel works, as I understand it.