How many here understand music theory?

What's Hot

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8816
    Yes, but it's all self taught. Music theory always seems to me like a mythology that has been created to explain reality. Theory then gets treated as rules which should not be broken, rather than stepping stones which some people have found useful.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33884
    Emp_Fab said:
    That's what puts me off learning.  I know it sounds dumb but I'm a bit bothered that if I understand what I'm doing, I'll be thinking theory all the time instead of just being in the moment.  On the other hand, I'm sure I could be better technically if I knew the theory.
    It doesn't really work like that.
    Think of it like learning more language.

When you learn more words you don't obsess over them and try to fit them in all the time where they aren't needed, or at least your shouldn't.
    Learning music theory simply informs you ability to express musical ideas in a more nuanced way.

Theory and technique are different things.
    A lot of composition graduates don't play very well at all, because they've spent their time analysing scores rather than playing.
    Think of it as the difference between being able to fix/build/design an F1 car or drive an F1 car.

Many very good musicians know next to fuck all about music theory.
    If you are asking how to divide your time though then it is tricky because I don't know if you spend much time doing either.

• randellarandella Frets: 4366
    Chalky said:
    randella said:
    Chalky said:
      Licks and modes leave me cold.  I'd much rather listen to a piece and try to copy it (and fail) than studiously work from tabs or other left-brain thinking material.