Helix routing question

What's Hot
smigeonsmigeon Frets: 283
edited December 2017 in FX
Here’s a hypothetical question for all you experts on Helix routing. Specifically, I’m wondering if it’s possible to do the following:

INPUTS: 
1. guitar in (mono, 1/4 jack input)
2. vocal mic in (mono, XLR input)
3. monitor feed in from mixer (stereo, returns 3,4)
4. boundary mic in (stereo, returns 1,2)

OUTPUTS:
1. guitar out to guitar amp (mono, 1/4 jack output)
2. guitar out to mixer (mono, send 1)
3. vocal mic out to mixer (mono, XLR output)
4. output to wired in-ear monitors (stereo, sends 3,4)

REQUIRED ROUTING:
- "guitar channel": input 1 SPLIT TO output 1 AND output 2
- "vocal mic channel": input 2 -> output 3
- "monitoring channel": input 1 MERGE WITH input 2 MERGE WITH input 3 MERGE WITH input 4 ->  output 4.

This implements a personal monitoring system for a singing guitarist in a band. As a singing guitarist, I want to monitor, through wired in-ears, a personal mix of i) my guitar, ii) my vocal mic, iii) an "ambient"  boundary mic positioned near me (to give me a sense of connection to the world), and iv) a stereo monitor feed from the PA mixer (so I can hear everyone else in the band). I want to be able to mix these 4 inputs arbitrarily to taste.

From looking at the manual, the Helix clearly has enough inputs and outputs to achieve this (e.g. using the assignments I suggested above). What is not clear to me, though, is whether it has the routing flexibility. The Helix has 4 paths: 1A, 1B, 2A and 2B. If I feed my 4 inputs into the 4 paths, it’s clearly straightforward to implement my “guitar channel” (i.e. split my input 1 to my outputs 1 and 2). 

BUT, is it also possible to implement the “monitoring channel” - i.e. take splits off 3 of the paths and merge them into the fourth??
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• stevebsteveb Frets: 42
    I dont have a helix but try this.

• smigeonsmigeon Frets: 283