Short stubby fingers = what guitar ?

What's Hot

Comments

• baldybaldy Frets: 195
    Again, thanks for all the advice.
    It is Justin Guitar I am following.
    On the 12th fret I have the gap between the 6th string & fret at 2mm & on the 1st string & fret at 1.5mm.
    That is the lowest action I can get by adjusting the bridge.
    I was advised that that is a good height for a beginner , is that reasonable or should it be lower?
    Any lower would require the nut being filed.
    The neck is straight & I am using no 10 regular slinky"s.
    My stepson, who has played guitar for nearly 20 years, has played mine & reckons it is not bad.
    He has offered to give me some pointers but said that as he is self taught & knows that he has an awful lot of bad habits that i would be better off at least learning the basics properly first before he gets involved. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • NeillNeill Frets: 943
    Years ago, a lot of guitars at the cheaper end were truly awful and many potential guitarists must have fallen by the wayside not realising the thing they were trying to learn on was almost unplayable.  These days even the cheapest electric guitar will be fine, providing it has been reasonably well set up, so don't fall into the trap of thinking you need a different guitar because your hands don't seem to "fit" the fretboard. 

It is a common refrain that "my hands are the wrong size/shape" and I well remember thinking that mine were much too big to play a guitar.  Of course these days I think my hands are too small..

You may find, in time, that you prefer a particular scale length, a particular style/thickness of neck, fret size, string guage etc etc. but the important thing at this stage is to play what you have and get reasonably competent before wasting, sorry, spending, money on more guitars.