Any Recommendations for second hand electric circa £1000\?

What's Hot
TedTed Frets: 126
Hi

Although I know a bit about acoustics I am new to the electric guitar, I am looking to invest in a second hand electric in the £1000 range. The only brands I have heard of are Fender and Gibson, but I am aware that there are other less famous brands that may be better value.

I wondered if anyone would be kind enough to post any ideas about what make, model and method of purchase I should be looking at. My tastes are  stuff like Led Zeppelin, Dead Kennedys, Bowie, Guns N Roses, Cream and U2.

I don't think I am keen on buying new, abut would be keen to know what the risks of buying used are

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8811
    With that budget the world really is your oyster. From the Big 2 you’re well into US Strat and Tele territory and knocking on the door of Deluxe and even Custom Shop models; a bit of shopping around should find you a Les Paul. 

There are hordes of other less famous but equal equal or better quality makers out there. Personally I think it’s hard to beat a Strat for versatility but there are as many opinions on this as there are guitarists. Your rock tastes might better suit a LP type.

Best advice I can give is to get out and try as many different guitars as possible, gradually refining your search criteria as you establish your preferences as to pickups, neck profile, fingerboard, body shape etc etc. Happy hunting!
    Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • IamnobodyIamnobody Frets: 6908
    Looking at the list of bands you like you won’t go wrong with a Les Paul.

£1k should get one with a bit of shopping around and bartering.

A bit less if you go Japanese.

Previously known as stevebrum
    • what @JerkMoans   ; said.