Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Do guitarists listen to music on the radio differently?

What's Hot

Comments

• DominicDominic Frets: 16119
    It's about demystifying things ;
    Once you can speak Spanish it doesn't sound so fast and frantic or romantic
    Once you've slept with hundreds of women of all shapes and sizes they've got to be exceptionally dirty to put the fun back into it !
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10441
    It depends on what you do for a living ..... as a guitarist I used to focus on the guitar, then when I played quite a lot of keys and bass I honed in on that. 

When I worked in a recording studio I listened to the length of the verb on the snare drum and compared it to the tempo .... you can go down a rabbit hole with listening. 

To be fair I don't think any of us can listen as a pure punter any more .... that liberty is taken away as soon as you play an instrument 
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • I had the same conversation with my daughter not long ago.  She has grown up with access to all my music and more recently Spotify etc.  We were in the car listening to the radio and she was humming along, swapping and changing between the melody and a riff that was very low in the mix.  We started talking about music and how we each listen to it.

She said when she listens to songs it's like they are in 3d and she can focus on different parts. I asked her if she could hear the bass, then the keys.  No problem at all.

I think being a musician of any sort allows you to focus on specific instruments, but can make it difficult to listen to a piece as a whole.