Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

String cleaning

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• Voxman said:
    I used to clean my guitar/strings loads when I started playing. Don't bother now.
    If you over rub them you just take the nickel off them. 
    Thats a new one Ive not heard of before! Been playing over 47 years and never rubbed the nickel off my strings yet!  ;)
    Well nickel doesn't really dull. 

It's like polishing silver. If you get a lot of "dirt" on the cloth it's actually taking the metal away. 
    Certainly wouldn't use brasso or anything abrasive. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I just give my strings a quick clean with Fast Fret after playing. I don’t use the little piece of cloth they supply to wipe off the strings  as it leaves fuzzy bits on the fingerboard, I use a bit of cotton cloth instead. Using Fast Fret makes my strings sound and feel great for ages.
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31650
    I have corrosive sweat, conventional strings last a week or so on studio guitars but less than a whole gig on stage guitars. 

Elixir Nanowebs last me four three-hour gigs, and even then I only change them as a precaution against breakages. 

They've transformed my life tbh, I can chuck a just-gigged guitar back in its case and get it out a month later and it's like I just put it down. 

I put my first set of Nanowebs on my Tele for a gig over three years ago and am still occasionally gigging and recording with the same set now. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4727