Google Stadia

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17638
    tFB Trader
    I think it's being discontinued, or at the very least deprioritised. 

I've got one, but I've never used it even before the free trial ran out. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GreatapeGreatape Frets: 3580
    I wonder how much electricity would be consumed by server farms for this if it were scaled up and made to work? Would this be a significant increase from where we are now? 
    tFB Trader
    Greatape said:
    I wonder how much electricity would be consumed by server farms for this if it were scaled up and made to work? Would this be a significant increase from where we are now? 

That's a good question.

Theoretically they could be more efficient because people are sharing computer resource and you could centralise power and cooling and attach solar farms to the data centre etc.
    The question is if that offsets the additional resource consumption of streaming the video.
  • Axe_meisterAxe_meister Frets: 4646
    edited April 2022
    Google Cloud happens to be Carbon Neutral with the a of being carbon free by 2030.
    Looks like Stadia is now more of a development platform for games developers rather than a consumer platform.
  • I think it's being discontinued, or at the very least deprioritised. 

I've got one, but I've never used it even before the free trial ran out. 
    I hope I get to have a good go of red dead 2 first…
  • CavemanGroggCavemanGrogg Frets: 3021
    edited April 2022
    Greatape said:

That's a good question.

Theoretically they could be more efficient because people are sharing computer resource and you could centralise power and cooling and attach solar farms to the data centre etc.
    The question is if that offsets the additional resource consumption of streaming the video.