Bought back an old guitar of yours?

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 2606
    edited April 2019
    When I started playing again after many years' lay off I tried to source the Norlin black Les Paul Custom that was my first high end guitar and which I'd sold a long time previously.  Always a long shot, but my wife managed to track down and contact the buyer.  He no longer had the guitar, though, and since he'd sold it in Denmark Street any chance of tracing it was minimal.

It probably would not have been a sensible buy, other than for purely sentimental reasons.  It would have been too heavy for me now, and if the fret wire on it was anything like the original "fretless wonder" wire I would have hated it.  I didn't know about the advantages of bigger wire back in the day.  Also I have a superb, lighter Les Paul Axcess with jumbo wire and Bareknuckle Mules that sees very little play - I prefer semi-hollow Gibsons or Stratalikes, so it seems I'm just no longer a Les Paul guy.  It would have ended up stuck in a case or stand, gathering dust.
    “To a man with a hammer every problem looks like a nail.”
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • grungebobgrungebob Frets: 3339
    Yeah funnily enough I’ve bought back my PRS CE 22. It was an all black model with dragon II pickups and five way rotary. Sold it for a CU24 didn’t like the CU so traded back my CE and cash for the CU. 
    Sold it again a few months later though. 

Also sold my musicman Sub one HH guitar and immediately regretted it, git wouldn’t sell it back so I bought a single H version that’s going nowhere ever and is currently my only guitar. 
  • AlexlotlAlexlotl Frets: 175
    I recently had the option of buying back my old Daphne Blue late 90s US Standard Tele, which I bought with my Dad when I was 18. I sold it to a friend ten years ago when moving to NZ, at a great price but on the proviso that I got first refusal on any future sale.