Having trouble with learning lead styles

What's Hot
CharlesJSCharlesJS Frets: 0
edited August 2021 in Guitar
Is this something best learned from a teacher? I am mostly self taught on guitar with a few lessons here and there; plus the 5 or so years of lessons and 3 other instruments I used to play as a kid. ringtones free

I'm more specifically talking about guitarists such as SRV and Santana. Tabs and sheet music can only get me so far. I am having trouble finding information on their unique styles and how to go about learning/practicing. 

Chords bore me and I mostly stick to a lead style when I play. I'm pretty good at the pentatonic scales but when improving I feel like my styles are not evolving and my sound stays the same.
Any advice?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• p90foolp90fool Frets: 31593
    Dare I be the first to say it?

It's probably because chords bore you. Lead guitar uses them as a jumping off point, and if you don't understand the structure of what you're playing over and your interaction with it then you will just end up in a rut. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 8reaction image Wisdom
  • HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9680
    edited April 2019
    You might find chords ‘boring’ but remember that, in a live situation, most players will spend 90% of their time going ‘chugga chugga’ and only 10% going ‘Neeeooooowww!’.

Get the chords right, learn the inversions, how different chords work (and resolve), etc. THEN start worrying about how, where, and why solos and fills fit in.