Bands and rehearsals

What's Hot
hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1822
edited July 2019 in Live
Just wanted to sound something out with you guys. I'm a hobbyist musician and so are half my band mates. However, there are a couple in it who actually do it for a job. It came up at the last rehearsal that the professional side of the band suggested we just do our homework at home and only get together for the gigs. I don't know about you guys but I'd hate that idea. A, because I don't do this as a day job as mentioned, B, I like getting together for a rehearsal and C I need the consistency of rehearsals as it focuses me. We don't gig much so I believe it will be no point in being a band and will lose momentum.

Hence I fear once again it's gonna cause a divide and possibly split the band up for a while. What would your thoughts be?
Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4114
    Pisses me right off when my band mates don't do their homework and learn the songs at home.   Band rehearsal should simply be for checking everything is brought together nicely and agreeing starts/ends.  Total waste of rehearsal time if someone turns up without having learnt things. 

My band has fairly frequent gigs so we don't rehearse much these days although we're do when we add a new song in just to do the above steps. :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1822
    Pisses me right off when my band mates don't do their homework and learn the songs at home.   Band rehearsal should simply be for checking everything is brought together nicely and agreeing starts/ends.  Total waste of rehearsal time if someone turns up without having learnt things. 

My band has fairly frequent gigs so we don't rehearse much these days although we're do when we add a new song in just to do the above steps. :)