online gutar lessons and guitar through headphones

What's Hot
phil_bphil_b Frets: 2010

I am a beginner struggling my way through some online guitar lessons. how ever it would be very helpful if I could use headphones as this would extend my practice time.

what I need is to connect my amp and my computer into the same set of headphones so I can hear both at the same time.

my amp is a vox mv50 that only has one input for the guitar and my laptop one has one headphone socket that can be used as a mike input or headphone output.

what do I need to set this up

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    You need a mixer of some kind.

Either just a mixer itself that you'd connect both the computer and guitar amp output to or you could get an audio interface for the computer that connects via usb and would allow the guitar amp output to be connected too. The latter has the advantage of being able to record your playing to listen back, even in the future if you don't want to yet.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • phil_bphil_b Frets: 2010

Thanks for the quick reply. I guess I am looking for a low cost option if possible

thanks for the link. that looks very reasonable at that price.
    I got one on order so I should be up and running soon . many thanks
    No problem man, should be easy to set up and get going.

You should find straight away that the audio from the laptop will go through it by default and when you plug the guitar amp output in to it, that will come through at the same time.

Then you can even start recording the guitar part (while listening to the backing track if you like, that won't be recorded along with the guitar part unless you want it to).

If you have any problems after reading the manual etc., post back.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    thanks again. I will post back and let you know how I get on