10 000 hour rule?

What's Hot
phil_bphil_b Frets: 2010

I have just come across this theory and it made me a little depressed.

I am a beginner and if I really need 10000 hours practice to get any good it will take me about 30 years at my currant rate. the problem is at nearly 50 years old should I save myself the frustration and just enjoy music played by others as I have done so up until now.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• VeganicVeganic Frets: 673
    edited October 2019
    Is that the Malcolm Gladwell theory that it takes that amount of practice to be good at a task? It's bollocks. 

We are all different.  And once you get some rudimentary mechanics it can all be down to your ear or taste or something that can't be taught just developed.

Whether you give up or carry on is up to you.  As long as you are getting something out of it and can spare the time keep it up.  My Theory is it helps keep my brain keep going into old age if I make it and my body doesn't give in first but I have done less research than Malcolm 

And even if it were true it is a necessary rather than sufficient condition.  I have played a lot and I am still shit.

Edit:. I think those who are going to be good at guitar seem to get pretty good within three years. Discuss.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom
  • Also to be fair; I'd heard (from Bounce etc) that 10,000 was the amount of work to become "expert" that definition also varies considerably, and as said above even "proficiency" is very much a sliding scale.

If you're enjoying it and progressing I'd say it's also about the journey. Unless you're planning a 10,000 word treatise on the intricacies of Robert Fripp's style then f**k it, keep on keeping on. I reckon if you're putting in an hour a day, you could even look back in a month and appreciate the improvement, never mind 30 years.

Have fun!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom