Floyd Rose woes

What's Hot
Hi

I have a jackson kelly KE5FR, which has a Floyd Rose FRT-O2000 tremelo. I have been having issues with tuning stability which i had put down to some wear on the knife edges.

I took it to my local guitar tech to have it properly set up and the knife edges sharpened (which was specifically asked for and charged). They gave it back saying there were no issues. 

I have been playing it and continue to have tuning issues. I’ll go through the process of tuning until perfect with the nut open, locking and then fine tuning again. One song later and every string is a quarter step down with only light tremelo use.

Before i go back and start making noises about being ripped off i want to make sure that it’s not something benign. I have no experience with floyds and have only ever had hard tail guitars. What I can’t work out is whether, with new strings, you still need to stretch them like you do on a regular guitar - i just changed strings on my firebird with locking steinberger gearless tuners and still had to pull and stretch the strings loads before it stayed stable so i suspect there’s a similar settling in process even with double locking. But when i try to stretch on the floyd by pulling the string up it ends up popping out of the bridge slot.

Any help would be much appreciated!

many thanks 
Richard
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72345
    If the strings are popping out of the bridge clamp then the clamps are not done up tightly enough. That will most likely be the problem.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom