Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Guitar Body Shape And Comfort

What's Hot
CeeJayCeeJay Frets: 455
Ok, I started playing just over a year ago. I've always loved the shape of a Gibson SG, so just starting out and wanting a nice , but affordable guitar I bought an Epiphone SG G400 Pro. I thought it was the dogs nads ........until, I bought a cheap Yamaha Pacifica as a project to learn about the workings of an electric guitar. I stripped out all the electrics and pick ups and replaced them with upgrades, CTS pots etc. I even made myself a new scratchplate to house a Neck P90, which although only a Wilkinson Jobbie, sounds great. It sounds so much better than the SG. So swap the pick ups in the SG I hear you cry. Yes, well here's the thing. I've tried to love the SG but It's just not comfortable to play, either standing due to it being very neck heavy, or sitting, due to the nut being a country mile further away than the Yamaha. I do prefer the Gibson scale length over the Fender Strat type scale length though.
So I've made my mind up, the Epi SG has to go as I'm playing it less and less, so does my answer lie in a Les Paul shape? Is it less of a reach to the first fret on an LP? I guess the answer is to go and try one, but I thought I'd throw it out for your thoughts.

(Another thing I noticed is the SG sounds dead unplugged compared to the Pacifica. Maybe because I stripped the finish off the Pacifica and finished it with a water based satin varnish? I dunno)

Thanks all.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JeremiahJeremiah Frets: 631
    In my experience the Strat shape (and near-copies like the Pacifica) is by far the most comfortable and playable of all the mainstream body shapes.