Kit list for home studio

What's Hot
Hi all - apologies if this has been covered elsewhere...

I'm very new to this and just wondering what I will need to purchase in order to be able to record guitar and keyboard at home using my Windows 10 i7 laptop. From doing some research on the web it looks like I will need a music interface, monitor speakers - (do these plug directly in to the laptop?) and DAW software. I have read that Cakewalk was the best but I'm seeing Reaper mentioned here. Some music interfaces have MIDI inputs and others don't, will I need MIDI inputs for guitar/keyboards? Which ones are the best?

I don't want to spend a lot, hopefully less than £500 if possble (I already have the laptop)

Years ago I used a TASCAM 8 track multi-recorder...seems like the game has changed :)

Thanks for the advice and, again, apologies if this type of question has already been covered here. Any help much appreciated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• John_AJohn_A Frets: 3775
    edited February 2020
    Speakers plug in to the audio interface, this then replaces the sound card in your laptop so all audio will come out of them

a zillion options, here’s some cheap but good

https://www.gear4music.com/Recording-and-Computers/Behringer-U-PHORIA-UMC202HD-USB-Studio-Pack/2KWM

https://www.studiospares.com/Headphones-and-Speakers/Studio-Monitors/Studiospares-Seiwin-5A-Studio-Monitors---Monitor-Pads_248041.htm?ne=AQAAAAMAAAAEDFN0dWRpb3NwYXJlcw==

plus whatever software you go for

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Heartily recommend Reaper, free at first but you’ll want to buy it for not much at all once you get into it 
  • Thanks both, much appreciated. Downloaded Reaper yesterday, like the look of it already
  • TheBigDipperTheBigDipper Frets: 4804
    edited February 2020