Recommend a Guitar for my Newbie Friend Beginner

What's Hot

Comments

• Tanglewood or Yamaha do decent acoustics for less than £300.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ShrewsShrews Frets: 3070
    As a novice I bought my Fender Hellcat Electro-Acoustic for around £350. GAK have it for sale for £329. She can buy a nice amp to go with it next year

I find it's really easy to play, love the sound it makes and stays in tune really well. It also looks good which is so important for a beginner.

https://www.gak.co.uk/en/fender-tim-armstrong-hellcat/24485?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrMXs9Zjv6AIVxLTtCh1vtwsFEAQYASABEgLPLfD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

I bought it after reading the review here

https://www.guitarfella.com/fender-tim-armstrong-hellcat-review/

• BellycasterBellycaster Frets: 5867
    Thanks guys. Plenty here to be chewing over. I think it's a good idea to get an Electro Acoustic as it sort of Future Proofs in a way.

I suppose it's good to remember that something we think plays easy might not feel that way to someone who is trying to put an F Chord down for the first time. That's why the Acoustics with Necks more like an Electric have sparked interest like the Ibanez AEWC400 and the Yamaha APX600.

Also the Fender California series, Newporter, Redondo etc. I'm worried they might sound a bit thin though.

I have to admit that I would not be able to set up the Guitar either as action changes would require work on the Nut, I can adjust a truss rod but that only alters relief, which might not address the whole action issue.
    Only a Fool Would Say That.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72675
    edited April 2020

I think it's a good idea to get an Electro Acoustic as it sort of Future Proofs in a way.