Apps to learn piano

What's Hot
RaymondLinRaymondLin Frets: 11876
edited April 2020 in Other Instruments
I have an old Yamaha P70 Digital Piano that i bought years ago, I had some lessons but never got very far.  I want to pick it up again and wonder if there are any apps that I can connect it to my computer via Midi perhaps so it shows up in the app to match what key i am pressing.

And have the screen show up something like this with the songs and keys coming down.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33797
    edited April 2020
    The reality is those apps are going to go WAAAAY too fast to learn anything unless you already possess a high level of skill on the piano.

I'm not a piano teacher but I am a music teacher who is learning piano.
    What you need to do is be able to harmonise the mayor scale in several keys- let's say C G D A, F Bb Eb Ab to begin (or if that is too much C, G, F.
    If you can't do that then learn how to do that.

Learn the major scale with the correct fingerings (google will reveal, or ask me) and learn how to construct the chords in root position, 1st and 2nd inversions in all those keys.
    Then figure out how to play common chord progressions (start with I IV V and ii V I) using good voice leading utilising those  inversions (minimal movement where possible, don't just block chord your way through it, although practice that too).

That is about 1-3 months of work right there, depending on how much time you put in.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10406
    You see the 2 black keys on their own ....... that's the kennel and the dogs in the kennel ..... so D is in between em. That's honestly how I was taught 30 odd years ago and it worked. It's actually very easy to memorize the notes on a keyboard as you only need to remember 7 white notes and 5 sharps  ... that's it