I'm a beginner (too) - ipad or ???

What's Hot

Hi all,

I can see a few other threads about getting into home recording - as ever I'm running before I can walk, but I'm in the deep end sort of person to get a show on the road and have acquired a Scarlett 212 Studio. I'm a forever mediocre guitarist and can pull a few notes on a bass, bash a drum and press just a few keys. I want to put together some tracks, using a video cam as well, with me attempting all instruments on a few songs with a split view screen to submit to virtual band events. Beauty, I hope of this recording is that I can pick and choose my better attempts and stitch together on computer.

My initial concern is overloading my laptop which I use for work and is already showing some signs of slowing and freezing up - should I consider getting a separate computer for my music projects as I am sure the software and files could be huge. Would an iPad be a best choice or some other tablet or other PC/laptop ?

Any advice dearly sought, thanks everyone

Joe

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TTonyTTony Frets: 27497
    I always say ... there are *lots* of music-creation apps on the iPad including free ones (Garageband) that come in the box.

And an iPad is pretty intuitive.
    Having trouble posting images here?  This might help.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Jimbo55Jimbo55 Frets: 7

Thanks TTony - it would need to be simple for me to get to grips with it !

I wonder what memory size, and ipad model would be best suited - they get pricey at the top end - guessing they have sufficient plug in ports too ?

• hollywoodroxhollywoodrox Frets: 4159
    edited July 2020
    I got my IPad used from CEX a few years ago 6th generation 128gb ram about £280 they are about £300 now . I always get this stuff from CEX 2 year warranty and the quality/grading is good.
    im a total thick on home recording but there are loads of apps