Learning to target chord tones.

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9677
    Danny1969 said:
    When given lessons I teach what I call targeting the third.
    this just means the pupil writes down the chords and on the  change he targets the third note in the scale of that chord. 

So if it was a change from A minor to D Major for example at the point of the chord  change he will target F# as his landing note.
    I'm essentially self taught so hadn't really analysed this, but looking at my playing I realise I do this a lot.
    I play guitar because I enjoy it rather than because I’m any good at it
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • HAL9000 said:
    Danny1969 said:
    When given lessons I teach what I call targeting the third.
    this just means the pupil writes down the chords and on the  change he targets the third note in the scale of that chord. 

So if it was a change from A minor to D Major for example at the point of the chord  change he will target F# as his landing note.
    I'm essentially self taught so hadn't really analysed this, but looking at my playing I realise I do this a lot.
    It's something I do as well. For example, when playing a blues in the key of A, I might think in terms of the major and minor pentatonic scales overlaid on top of each other for my 'palette of notes' but be aware of the chord tones within that palette. If fact the ear leads one that way anyway.

Moving to the IV chord (i.e. the D chord) I might land on the F# (i.e. the 3rd of the D chord). But that already exists within my palette of notes, as it's part of A major pentatonic.

The interesting one is landing the 3rd of the V chord (i.e. the E chord) which is  G#, which brings in an interesting sound from a note from outside my basic palette of notes.

It's not a competition.
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10413