The community repair thread

What's Hot

Comments

• roundthebendroundthebend Frets: 1145
    Got it. Blimey, that was sticky.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    Now, I'm guessing that this tangle of threads, of which a few seem to be soldered to the pot, is the cause of my issue. The other pots and joints look good in comparison.

I'm a little bit scared to attack it. My approach would be to snip them back and start fresh. I can then remove the solder from the pot, and do a neater job of it. I'm no expert with an iron, and I know I need to get the pot warmed up well to get a good bond.
    Question though. The lump of solder there has a thin wire joined to the tag which makes me think it'd be easier to just connect everything there. What am I missing?
  • JonathangusJonathangus Frets: 4623
    @roundthebend - I find the easiest way is to get a couple of teaspoons, put them under the knob opposite each other (use a piece of kitchen paper to protect the finish) and lever the knob off with even pressure from both sides.
    Trading feedback | How to embed images using Imgur

As for "when am I ready?"  You'll never be ready.  It works in reverse, you become ready by doing it.  - pmbomb

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • thermionicthermionic Frets: 9674