Fender Blues Junior good replacement for Tech 21 TM60?

What's Hot
jedhemsleyjedhemsley Frets: 7
edited September 2013 in Amps
hey guys! 

So basically at present my amp is a Tech 21 TM60, which is a really decent solid state amp if you're at all familiar with them (they make the SansAmp modelling pedals too). I've been using it for a good 4 years and have always been satisfied with it, but i'm feeling it might be time for a change. The problem is that it's a two channel amp; channel 1 based on fender amp tones and channel two more designed to emulate marshall/mesa tones. The thing is, for about 3 years i've only been using channel one, and then using my trusty Ibanez Tube King to provide valve overdrive. The amp also has some really dodgy EQ layout, with 'drive' 'punch' and a 'bite' button, so i've started to feel like i might want to just go over to a more conventional setup. 

The blues junior seems like a good shout, because it's a 1 channel amp, which is basically what i need as i already have a good overdrive pedal. It's also got a more standard 3 band EQ which i like the idea of. 

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the blues junior, in terms of what sort of tones you can get out of it and what guitars it's suited to (at the moment i've got a strat and a les paul). One thing which i kinda want would be the ability of the amp to generate a really good crunch tone, because that's not really something my pedal can acheive very well.

Any opinions on the blues junior would be good, or comparisons to similar amps, or even suggestions of any other amps which might be worth a look! I'm just really trying to decide what direction i want to go in at the moment :)

In terms of value i'm really looking for a like for like swap. I think used i could get around £250-300 for the TM60, and that's similar to what the valve juniors seem to be after a cheeky look on ebay and gumtree - so anything around that spectrum used.

Cheers!