Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Help - venue dB limiters and liability

What's Hot
dariusdarius Frets: 632
We’ve got a covid postponed wedding gig coming up and we’ve just been hit by the venue’s ‘rider’ rules and Do’s and Dont’s. 

PAT test certificates. Nope.
Public Liability Insurance. Nope.
and the potentially gig killing…
You will connect to our Sound limited power, which will cut off if 95dB for 3secs.

Experience and help needed.

PAT testing - I can probably and probably should get this sorted through local friends.

Liability - how do you insure an amateur weekend warrior non professional band? All the websites assume you’re a professional entity. None of us are in the MU. Any advice? Assume I have no knowledge. 

95dB - This sounds low to me. We’re a loud rock band. I think we’re screwed. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mrkbmrkb Frets: 6932
    edited August 2021
    How far away is the decibel meter from the stage? Is the venue open or a closed room? A drum kit can hit 110 db easily, though only for a fraction of a second, might need to do ekit to get down to 95 db.  In fact I think I can hit 95 db just singing loudly in my music room.
    Karma......
    Ebay mark7777_1
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6399
    I'd go in for a soundcheck IIWY, 95db seems pretty low
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8779
    Turn down the gig. Audience clapping and shouting during speeches is that loud. 
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 24676