Trying to understand valves, phase inverters, etc. (...watt the hell?)

What's Hot
imalrightjackimalrightjack Frets: 3759
Hi all, I am confused by valves. In fact, I am confused by most things guitar and amp related, other than just playing the bloody things. Anyway... I have an Engl Gigmaster 30 combo and a Laney LC15R. The former uses one 12AX7 in the pre-amp stage and the latter uses three. What throws me there is that the Laney despite being half the wattage uses three times as many valves. Why? What does all this mean? From what I can gather, the phase inverter in the Laney is the third 12AX7 but in the Engl it's the first EL84. Can anybody help me understand the differences and what effect it might have changing different valves? Thanks! PS - my next question relates to speakers!
Trading feedback info here

My band, Red For Dissent
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MistergMisterg Frets: 346
    The power output only depends on the power valves - EL84s in each case:

The LC15 has one pair producing ~15W, the Engl has 2 pairs producing ~30W.

The Laney uses valves for all the amplification and the PI (but not reverb, FWIW).

I doubt that the EL84 is anything to do with the PI in the Engl - I strongly suspect that it uses solid state circuitry for the PI and also for extra gain to boost the single ECC83, but I can't find any schematics in a brief attempt at searching.

Dunno if that helps...

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Trading feedback info here

My band, Red For Dissent
  • MistergMisterg Frets: 346
    OK, so it's true:

There's at least two solid state gain stages (around IC1A and T1) and a solid-state PI (IC2b, T3 & T4).

What matters is how it sounds, though, whatever the innards are made of.
  • What does the phase inverter actually do? I assumed it did a very specific job in a singular way but clearly not...

My band, Red For Dissent
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1636