Band monogamy

What's Hot
paulphoenixpaulphoenix Frets: 141
What's everyone's view on this?

I'm definitely a one band only kind of guy. For me personally, I feel that it is best to give all your time, effort and musical energy to just one project at time.

Obviously, there are many that are seemingly happy and able (somehow) to be in multiple bands at once.

I have been rehearsing with a band for the last 9 months. A couple of the members (husband and wife) had alluded to contributing to other projects (without ever confirming definitively). We had a bit of a lull after Christmas with no rehearsals (partly my fault plus some bass player problems) but whenever I contacted them to ask, they both confirmed they were still keen once we found a new bass player. Then literally a day after our most recent message exchange they're both all over FB promoting their (other) new bands' first 3 gigs.

This left me feeling a little disenchanted, and that I should back away from (or scrap) our project to let them establish and concentrate on their new band. Both are great musicians and cool peeps and we have several mutual friends (which is how we were introduced). 

Those of you that are in multiple bands (and I don't mean just occasional depping) - do you actively contribute to promotion/marketing, getting gigs, arranging rehearsals/man management as well as the social and friendship side etc..in each band or do you just turn up and play? Maybe it's different for each band you play in? What about conflicts of interests/gigging schedules? 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• p90foolp90fool Frets: 31589
    I've been in four bands at once before now, but have made it clear to all of them which one is my priority, and have arranged deps (which I spent time training) for the others.