The Doctor Who thread

What's Hot

Comments

• darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 12285
    JEM said:

The show is deliberately pivoting to make the supernatural more of a part of what it does,

Yeah and I think that's what I struggled with. I've never really been that big a fan of the show. I was a Tom Baker kid and didn't really watch much of the later incarnations. I started watching again with my kids with the Chris Ecclestone reboot. 

I always saw it as science fiction albeit often taking liberties with the science bits (reverse the polarity, sonic screwdriver etc.). Supernatural stories have always been part of it but there was always a science-y explanation behind it, like a time travelling Scooby Doo.

I guess it's Russel T Davies' show and he can go where he wants with it. I probably won't bother watching any more episodes but I'm sure many fans are glad to see the back of the sci-fi aspect of the show.

I don't think they want to totally remove the sci-fi aspects, I think they just want to have some fun with the supernatural and the extra story possibilities it opens up. 
    You are the dreamer, and the dream...
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • HeadphonesHeadphones Frets: 997
    Well, I've been enjoying them in a way I haven't for a long while.

It's light scifi, aimed at youngsters and their families, on a Saturday Evening (who mentioned the wheel?).

Pretty much hits that nail squarely.

It's a bit different to the older stuff, but so what?

It might upset some of the deep geeks - but is that a problem?  They'll stil watch it to moan that Tom Baker would have had more gravitas...  But the rest will treat it as fun - and the grumpies just add to the numbers!
  • dazzajldazzajl Frets: 5876
    Has The Doctor ever been a Sci Fi show? Seems to me that it’s used a sci fi concept to be an adventure show, a drama, a thriller, a horror, a comedy, a sitcom, a history show and a showcase for the widest number of ideas.