Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

23 String Harp-Lute That I Have Made

What's Hot
Right I tried to post this yesterday and everything went wrong and it deleted everything I wrote so I wil just post the pics now.

This instrument was built for my research MA the title of which is:

The Harp-Lute In Michael Praetorius's Theatrum Instrumentroum: Interpretation and Reconstruction

If you have any questions about who Michael Praetorius was and what the Theatrum Instrumentorum is feel free to ask away.

The instrument itself is a bit rough in places, but to be fair it was bloody difficult to make and I have no prior experience of lute making (for which the instrument is at the high end difficulty level in regards to construction) so for a first attempt it is a fair go.

The instrument was made using a woodcut from 1620, there was no scale information or anything else for that matter other than a brief description stating that it is 'A unique lute played in the manner of a harp'. There was a 200 page dissertation that accompanied the reconstruction so feel free to ask any questions you like.

image"">imageimageimageimage

Old Is Gold
0reaction image LOL 35reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Very impressive, Sheldon. :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I think a 'wow' is deserved! Do you have any recordings?
  • No recordings yet as it is still settling in, it may actually destroy itself at full pitch. This is one of the things discussed in the disseration, having an unsupported neck with 23 strings is pretty crazy really and something you just don't see. In reality the original instrument probably destroyed itself after a period of time.