Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

New Pink Floyd album

What's Hot

Comments

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8497
    edited November 2014
    Funny how so many people are down on Water's musical abilities. He's the one who wrote most of the songs, don't forget - great lyrics and melodies, and often very interesting rhythms and riffs- he came up with the 7/4 in Money for example. And yes, I saw Ca Ira performed in Poznan a few years back. Also as a bassist I think Roger has a great sense of groove having seen him live several times. That's something very few people have. I actually think Mason is musically the weakest link - part of the Floyd sound is his ability to boil every part down to essentially 4/4, and even 20 years ago there was another percussionist often playing the more intricate rhythms.

Meanwhile, I think Gilmour is essentially a blues musician who knows the old blues lead tricks but has taken them into a different musical context with added delay and fuzz. He can play an awesome lick but usually his songs are atmospheric vehicles for his soloing.

I guess I'm more of an ideas /concept guy.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Pink Floyd? New album? I guess my trip to the doctors ($35) for sleep pills prescribed (additional $50) could've been significantly a smaller bill then. 

Boring. Overrated. Done. Endless river of boredom. :) Never understood the need or hype over Floyd. Someone wanna try and convert me? I'm demanding a refund from the doctor. 
    Music the great communicator, use two sticks to make it in the nature - a music reviews blog: http://usetwosticks.wordpress.com/
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10521
    edited November 2014
    Cirrus said: