Did/does anyone find the "self-taught"/online route more productive than private lessons?

What's Hot
ms21ms21 Frets: 5

Sorry in advance for the long post but:

The reason I ask is that whilst conventional wisdom states that private lessons are always superior, I’ve gone from online courses and just had my 2nd private lesson and find the whole thing rather frustrating. Now, I am most certainly gonna give the guy a chance, he seems really nice and I know full well that 2x1 hour sessions is nowhere near enough to really get into it. 

But here’s the thing, I’ve been playing for about 2 years now. Solidly at an intermediate stage in certain aspects but still a beginner with lead work and theory. The only reason I didn’t take private lessons to begin with was due to financial reasons. The problem I have encountered though, unsurprisingly, with learning online, is a lack of structure and direction. I aim to practice for around 4 hours a day and I’m there or thereabouts, but it can get very frustrating not knowing if the routine is getting you anywhere, and whether or not you’re doing things properly, or taking longer than you need to be learning a certain technique. 

So recently I bit the bullet and took my first lesson. The guy seems really nice and prior to our first meeting, I explained to him why I needed a teacher. Feedback & practice structure, in a nutshell. But, up until this point he’s provided me with next to nothing practical to take home with me, besides one lick to loosely practice here and there. He’s also not been technique orientated whatsoever and has instead just given me 2 lessons on foundational theory. The lessons have been cool and everything, but it just feels like we’re doing a course he gives all of his students and nothing that isn’t available online for 100% cheaper.