Did/does anyone find the "self-taught"/online route more productive than private lessons?

What's Hot

Comments

• bobaccobobacco Frets: 535
    edited April 2023
    ms21 said:
    Just to update this thread, following the last (my second) lesson, I showed the teacher that I was learning the notes on the fretboard. The way I did this was to simply go through each individual string and then play all the notes from that string up until the 12th fret. So for example open E and then every other E, so 12th fret low E string, 7th fret A string, 2nd fret D string etc etc. For notes EADGB(E), before also adding C and F. 

He told me to scrap this and use his method of a pattern which is as follows, pick a note, ie the G note on the 3rd fret low E string. Then to go 2 across 2 down, 3 across 2 down, and 2 across 3 up to locate all the other G strings on the fretboard. This seems to work to an extent, but the problem I’m having with this is that let’s say I start on the 7th fret low E string with a B note, and follow this pattern to locate all the other Bs, the pattern works from the 7th fret until the end of the board and back up to the 7th fret, but then if I want to locate the Bs prior to the 7th fret, all of a sudden the pattern doesn’t work anymore. If that makes any sense at all!? 

I’ve sent him a message asking him about this but does the above sound right? 
    These are essentially octave shapes, and will transpose into any key - but you are limited by the number of frets available (in either direction). 

Learning the notes on a single string isn’t to be discouraged (see The Advancing Guitarist by Mick Goodrick - first thing he drills if I recall!) but learning the octave shapes helps in that it can help with fretboard movement / fluidity.