Developing RH picking technique

What's Hot
joeWjoeW Frets: 463
I started playing Classical and have always found picks a bit of a necessary evil rather than a natural assistance.  I was wondering if anyone had had success in studying technique and if so, are there any decent resources out there.   I switch between George Benson style and normal grips and have yet to settle on one properly.  

Any recommendations?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• bobaccobobacco Frets: 535
    edited May 2023
    Troy Grady’s Cracking the Code is a great investment and digs super deep into every minutiae of the physiology and mechanics of picking. 

If you’re more looking for a book, Mark Burgess’ The Serious Guitarist - Right Hand Picking is worth a punt. 

I’d definitely recommend persisting with the George Benson grip - here’s a decent article (two parts):

https://fretboardanatomy.com/picking/

Edit: Stupidly forgot to mention Martin Miller’s JTC box set. Specifically the picking one! But they’re all worth the price of entry; fantastic guitarist and pedagogue. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8714
    bobacco said:
    here’s a decent article (two parts):

https://fretboardanatomy.com/picking/

That’s a decent article. It covers most aspects without the “You are doing it wrong” stance that so many articles have.