Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

dSLR equivalent of a Les paul

What's Hot
I'm an inexperienced guitarist currently learning on a single coil Godin Session.

I've recently started having nonsensical urges to buy another guitar, specifically a humbuckerry one. This has been prompted by hearing this sort of thing:

Whilst I recognise that me buying a Les Paul is rather akin to a car enthusiast without a driving licence buying a Ferrari  could I please ask you to park your ridicule for a moment and let me have your thoughts on how I would go about choosing a guitar that would give me the foundations to achieve the sort of tone on the video.

Having been through the whole cycle of buying a beginner machine, selling and progressing, selling and progressing with cameras, I would very much like to save time, aggravation and ultimately money by just getting a decent guitar first time. Here is the photographic equivalent of what I'm trying to avoid:

I have tried some guitars in stores but i) I'm a little (a lot) intimidated by the environment; and ii) don't understand enough about tone to understand the relative contributions of the amp, the guitar and the player. If a player like me picked up the gear of the guy in video, would the tone sound even vaguely similar? 

Please can you advise me on getting a Les Paul or similar that I can grow into and with which I can be pretty sure that any poorness of tone is down to me and not the instrument. If I get a good guitar, I've nowwhere to hide. My budget would be up to around £2k.

Many thanks
(Ducks to avoid incoming abuse)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments