Plectrums on a nylon string guitar?

What's Hot
I probably show my age here but when I started playing the conventional wisdom was that you played nylon-strung guitars with the fingers not a plectrum.

Increasingly I see players using picks (and I mean plectrums not finger-, thumb-picks) on nylon strings. What's the conventional wisdom? Have string technology or even instruments changed? My grandson has been recommended to play a classical nylon-strung guitar by his teacher and I'm trying to keep up to date.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• susbemolsusbemol Frets: 403
    It depends on what you mean by conventional wisdom. The traditional classical way of playing is always going to be fingers but if you ask most pros, they will probably tell you to use whatever works to achieve the sound you are looking for.

Although I did start on classical, I am not a traditional player by any means so I use both. Mostly fingerstyle for fuller chords and plectrum for soloing.

Different plectrums will also provide different sounds. I came across the Clayton Acetal 1.0mm plectrums as a recommendation and I agree that they sound quite a bit like fingernails, at least for the way I play: https://www.guitarooze.co.uk/products/clayton-acetal-small-teardrop-1-0mm-12-pack

Not sure if this is of any help as a reference but it was recorded with a plectrum:

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Some gypsy jazz players use nylon strung guitars with a pick but I suspect that they perhaps favour a harder material to get that cutting sound that is associated with this genre.
    "I've got the moobs like Jabba".
  • IIRC the original version of Cavatina was Tommy Tedesco using a plectrum on a nylon string so it's not an alien sound. 
    Kids are recommended nylon strung presumably because they are seen as easier on the fingers. 
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell.