What's Your Favourite Guitar Body Style/Size? (Random Question I know!)

What's Hot
SlopeSoarerSlopeSoarer Frets: 825
edited December 2023 in Acoustics
I've been playing guitar for around 8 years I'd say and went for the body size that I'd heard of as my first choice... dreadnought, Faith Saturn Natural. I then decided I wanted to have something small and comfortable to use on the settee so in came a travel size guitar, a Faith Nomad Mini Saturn which has been played to death as it is so easy to pick up, the sound is clearly affected by the diminished size but I do tune in to it. 12 months ago I thought the perfect size would be something in between and was thinking about a parplour size guitar when I spotted a Taylor GT Urban Ash for sale on our forum which I bought and enjoy very much but I was still hankering after a parlour style so very bought Harley Benton CLP-15ME SolidWood.

I generally only play at home or occassionally at a mates house and I'm finding I rarely pick up the dreadnought, though when I do I really enjoy the sound overall I'd say it is the best sounding of the 4 but I don't enjoy the physical size.

Up until a few weeks ago playing was spread between the travel guitar and the Taylor, one up stairs and one down both really comfortable though the sound is so, so much better from the Taylor.

Then along came the disrupter, the parlour guitar, the cheapest of the lot. It is so comfortable and the sound is great to my ears, a quite different (fuller than I expected) sound to the Taylor. Basically the travel guitar has been usurped!

I may end up having two of my beloved adopted, which would break my heart in one sense, though in another I'd sooner them be used rather than gathering dust. There's no rush to move on and writing this is part of my therapy!

Have you gone through a similar process? How did it end for you? Any regerets?

What size if any did you settle on? Or have you not?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom