what to buy?!

What's Hot
I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now learning on a very cheap acoustic (ovation applause) and a decent fender tele. I would really like to buy something that sounds better than my current acoustic. My question is as a relative beginner, is it worth spending £1000 + on something like a martin or would this be wasted in my hands? I am a professional (classical) musician, and would always pay for top quality in my main instrument but realise this may not be worth it on something I have no intention of playing in public! I would like a small acoustic, no need for pick ups as I don't plan on plugging it in. Any advice gratefully received!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Are you bothered about secondhand? You can do pretty well for 1k.
    I'd say that 1k in the Martin/Taylor world will get you less than a few other, less well known makes. There  is/was a Larrivee in the classifides that'd probably be a better instrument than your entry level 1k Martin.
    But with acoustic guitars, I genuinely think that often, more is more. With electrics maybe (others will disagree) that is less true. But if you're a musician you may well be inspired more by something you can really feel ring out in your hands, even if you're not taking it out of the house at the moment.
    Eastman's are great at that pricepoint too.

Matt
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • If you’re a classical player maybe something with a wider nut might make you feel more at home too. 
    Auden guitars do a hybrid classical - no idea what that means - they also have some other small bodied acoustics - secondhand you could get a good deal on them too
  • SolgateSolgate Frets: 5
    If you’re a classical player maybe something with a wider nut might make you feel more at home too.