Just Curious... Are Acoustic Bass Guitars Any Good?

What's Hot
SlopeSoarerSlopeSoarer Frets: 845
As the title says are acoustic bass guitars any good? I can't think I've heard one in the flesh. I've heard an acoustic ukulele which quite surprised me though... much more bass guitar sounding than I ever expected!

I have no bass experience whatsoever and it is a little itch that I may have to scratch at some time.

I'm interested in your thoughts, observations and experiences.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ElectricXIIElectricXII Frets: 1134
    In my limited experience, the ones I've tried, or played guitar along with, struggle to be loud enough acoustically next to a couple of enthusiastically strummed acoustic 6 strings. They often need need help from an onboard  pickup and a small amp.
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17652
    tFB Trader
    They are a bit pointless because the body isn't big enough to resonate at the fundamental bass frequency which is why a double bass or Guitarrón is so much bigger.

As a result they can't actually be practically used as an acoustic instrument with guitars etc because they just aren't loud enough and so they are essentially an electric bass with a largely useless soundbox meaning they are unwieldy and prone to feedback.

One theory I've heard is that they got popular due to MTV unplugged because you weren't allowed to play an electric bass so unless you could play upright you needed one of these just for the looks.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • equalsqlequalsql Frets: 6142
    Those little ukulele basses with their thick rubber strings sound great, like an upright bass, but of course you need to plug them in as they usually come fitted with a pickup. Jacob Collier uses them a fair bit..
    (pronounced: equal-sequel)   "I suffered for my art.. now it's your turn"
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom