Tried this digital lark…..

What's Hot

Comments

• Lewy said:
    I found that with an amp, I could just plug in, make simple adjustments, and I'd be good to go. Switching to modeling involved a very steep learning curve, especially with EQ, which is absolutely essential in getting a good tone. Once done, my modelled amp tones are as good as anything I've had from a valve amp.
    What are your top modelling EQ tips? 
    I  can only say what has generally worked for me and others may disagree. I'm no expert, this is just what I've discovered through trial and error, as well as a little research:

• Low cut set to 80-125Hz
    • High cut 6.3KHz
    • A moderate boost to 100-200Hz will give a bit more bass but too much adds boom. Try +3db and no more than +6db.
    • Boost 250Hz for warmth, but it needs to be moderate. 
    • Cut 250-350Hz to reduce mud, but don’t cut too much or the tone loses body.
    • Boost 300-500Hz to add body to the tone. This will probably be a wide boost of about +3db and is likely to be close to 500Hz as that is the core guitar frequency..
    • 1-3KHz is where you find pick sound and harshness. 
    • 3-4KHz adds presence. Be careful as fizz tends to arrive at 3.5-4.5KHz.