What head/cab for home use?

What's Hot
hobbiohobbio Frets: 3440
Hiya. I'm looking to get a low wattage valve head (or something switchable down to a low wattage) and a 1x12 or 2x12 cab for home use, basically to replace my crappy Marshall SS practice amp. It'll need a line in and headphone socket. The reason I'm after a head and cab is so I can get other heads in the future as well as using the cab as as an extension for my JD30-T.

Budget is as low as possible... :D

Any suggestions?

electric proddy probe machine

My trading feedback thread

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• For a low budget 2x12 the Harley Benton Vintage 30 cab is very tough to beat.  http://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_g212_vintage.htm

They also make a 1x12 but I have no experience with it http://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_g112vintage.htm

What tones are you looking for amp wise?

Used Blackstar HT1/R or HT5/R would have line in and headphone socket and shouldn't be too expensive.  Through V30s the HT1 is loud enough for home, you won't get a very loud clean but it'd be loud enough for home playing providing you don't play really loud at home.  The HT5 would be plenty loud on clean or overdrive channels.  I'm not sure what other amps have those features.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Line6 DT amp series have a "quiet mode" switch, but even without they sound very good at home levels. Not the cheapest of all amps, but they go for crazy bargain prices over last few weeks. New! Especially combos, but heads too.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72933
    edited January 2015
    Line in and headphone (at least if it's a proper emulated one, which is the only kind worth having) restricts the choice severely in valve amps, but the Blackstar HT-1RH fits the bill.

The Harley Benton cabs are unbeatable for the money - barely more than the cost of the speaker, and that's a good speaker.