Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot

Comments

• xsheqxsheq Frets: 71
    I had some lessons when I first started playing, and then went on to study guitarists and their styles on my own. It was important for me to have a foundation in technique to work from. I wasn't too interested in advanced theory (much to my regret). Now after 25 years of playing, I also teach, but only in 30 minute blocks. Much more than that and it's hard for the student to absorb much past that. In my experience, then, some basic knowledge is important, as there are many things specific to you that no youtube video is going to teach you. Good luck on your journey! 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33801
    octatonic said:

You're right, with the guitar traditional notation tells you nothing about where to place the notes- that is a musical/tonal choice to a degree though. 

A number in a circle tells you which string the note is on. A small number next to the note head tells you which finger to fret it with, Roman numerals above the stave tell you which position you should be in. You can't be more explicit than that! (applies to guitar music only - if you were transcribing music written for another instrument you'd have to work it out yourself)
    I don't think you know what I mean- you are describing tab, not notation.
    Traditional notation (i.e. dots) does not tell you where to place the note on the  guitar- there are usually 3 -5  of the same note on a guitar.

For instance, if you see a C above middle C on the stave (so C4) do you play that on the 1st fret of the 2nd string, the 5th fret of the 3rd string, or the 10th fret of the 4th string, 15th fret of the 5th string or the 20th fret on the 6th string?

What I am saying is traditional notation doesn't tell you where to play it on the guitar, which is why guitarists struggle with notation (and prefer tab)