Is anyone here self taught

What's Hot
12346»

Comments

• wizbit81wizbit81 Frets: 445
    Interested parties in where I went wrong with jazz eh? Happy to tell, although if you can play it to a reasonable standard you'll not get any tips from this. 

Essentially I learned all my scale shapes, all over the neck, all keys. I could see any scale I wanted pretty much all over the neck within a heartbeat....that took a LOT of work, and I spent untold hours (hundreds) playing ii V I's with Band in a box, all keys, using harm minor and mel minor to create extensions as well as min6 pentatonics to create cool sounds. Result....I could 'play' jazz to a standard where I could play quite fast over tunes. 

The problems...

1. I always sounded like I was playing OVER the changes, not IN the changes. I minorised everything or related it to a key centre and so all my lines always sounded the same. The harmonic context would change, but my lines would often have the wrong notes of emphasis. 
    2. This meant when learning a new jazz tune I'd spend 5 mins looking it over, isolating the key centres and mentally working out in my head how the neck patterns would change as I played through. I could never play a tune without doing this first. 
    3. Playing scales in this manner meant that I slipped into familiar fingerings all the time, and my creativity was very limited when improvising. I knew all the right scale notes to play, but wasn't making conscious choices when picking them, and thinking about what sounds I wanted to paint.