Souping up the electrics in an Epiphone Dot

What's Hot
the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1796
Hello,

I've got a really nice Korean Dot that feels and looks great imo but is slightly let down by the electrics.  I've been chatting with Ash at Oil City about getting some pickups but wondered whether it would be worth sorting the loom and the pots whilst I have the guts out through the F holes.

Can anyone suggest good options for upgrading these bits that I can look into please?  What would be sensible for the pots and would the wiring make that much difference?

I'm new to guitar modding so please don't assume any knowledge and feel free to patronise me.  I want to learn.

Cheers all
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16686
    its worth doing if you are after the upgrade, but i will also point out that you don't need to remove the wiring loom to replace pickups in these guitars.   it makes the job a lot easier and you can still do the loom later if you need to

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1796
    I had a feeling that that was the case but thinking that I could maybe sort it all at the same time.  Get it all spot on in one hit.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33799
    edited December 2013
    If you really are a new to guitar wiring I REALLY wouldn't suggest you dip your toe in with a semi.
    They are quite tricky to do.

It is almost a certainty that you will scratch the f-holes up getting the pots out.

Seriously, start with a Tele- treat the modding separate to what you want to do with this guitar- and give it to a pro who knows what they are doing.

• dogloaddogload Frets: 1495